
Time for lolzords


A new version of TrueCrypt, the open source on-the-fly disk encryption software, has been released. This update bumps the version number up to 5.
Among a Linux GUI and several other nice things a real biggy is a new feature that allows to encrypt complete Windows installations. You don’t have to reinstall Windows, the software will encrypt files on-the-fly while you’re working.
Unnecessary to say but encrypted file-systems do not deliver the same performance as unencrypted ones.
Ever since my iPod earphones died on me (must’ve been sometime in 2007) I was in search of decent earphones. Ordering another pair of shitty Apple run-of-the-mill earphones was out of question, the sound was just terrible and the hardware is/was inexcusable high priced.
On a whim I ordered Creative’s EP630 earphones. Earphones may be a little misleading here, for they’re actually in-ear phones.
One has to be sceptic: Is it really healthy and safe to use some oropax-like phones? I don’t think it is.
The vital point is the sound though. Can this pair of small speakers really deliver good sound? Actually, yes.
The sound is reasonably good, in-ear phones block out noises from the environment pretty well so they’re perfect for my use in trains and whatnot. A crucial point for the quality of sound is the position of the speakers. If placed wrong the sound is just shallow and bad. On the other hand, when placed correctly the speakers deliver a good performance. I can’t really comment on specifics here.
The EP360 definetively do not rival my real studio phones. In fact they’re worlds apart but with about 20€ the price for the EP360 is quite okay.
A while ago I was pondering about blogging clients (again?!). I vowed to intensively test Qumana and report back (or at least I intended to 😉 ).
Now, I’ve been testing Qumana for a while now. In fact, all posts ever since have been published with Qumana. Sounds like a good idea to give my final verdict (until I test programs again, that is).
Qumana is awesome.
I don’t call everything I come across awesome, but this software is very nice. Let me illustrate it for you:
Yeah, scaling in this software is a little bit bah, but hey… it’s free and it actually is able to upload images (QED 🙂 ) . The interface is pretty slick and clean, just like BlogJet (which I adore as well). Most points in the interface are pretty much self-explanatory.
But not everything is sunshine and kittens: Although the software is written in Java it doesn’t work on Linux thanks to the dependencies on some DLLs. The big fugly main toolbar can’t be hidden or at least reduced in size, I can’t hide the Insert Ad button (which I frankly neither want nor need, but hey — that’s what keeps the software free I guess).
Apart from that: Try it yourself. Personally I think for zero bucks this is a great piece of software.
Ich will nochmal darauf hinweisen: Auch wenn ich nichts poste, ich surfe und bookmarke fleißig 🙂 .
Meine del.icio.us Bookmarks füllen sich ständig weiter mit interessanten und kuriosen Links zu den Themen Software, Betriebssysteme, Do-it-yourself Hardware, .net und Linux/Solaris/Unix. Und manchmal kommt sogar ein Link zu irgendwelchen — meißt nicht jugendfreien — Picturepages japanischer Zeichner dazu.
I just uninstalled me’ ol’ Vista Service Pack Beta so I’m ready for the launch next month 😉 .
Just a note to all other people doing the same: Don’t forget to disable IPv6 in your primary network connection again or everything will be as slow as… well, me after running 100m.
You don’t want to see that, believe me; so just make sure you check your settings over.
Da offensichtlich Verwirrung darüber aufkommt, was ich denn so an Animes schaue…
I know, I should’ve done this ages ago… but oh well. Now you can use OpenID instead of a regular login.
I’m using this great plugin that basically does everything by itself. For some reason I’ve to use the subversion version though, the released files mess up my installation.
…comment on LVM and why I would never use it to keep my RAID system somewhat dynamic but that’d require me to actually gather some hard evidence that a ZFS system is much more scalable, easy to administer and mucho more secure. And quite frankly: I’m too lazy for that.
So let’s just say I tried it, I benchmarked it and I removed it. Just seems like much more work to do what I’m currently doing on a much more sophisticated level.
What I will comment on is Linus’ “we need better powersaving” talk: That’s so true, but first make sure that waking up laptops from hibernation doesn’t cause inconsistencies in my filesystem anymore. kthxbye.
I have to setup a lot of systems. The sound processor on the mainboards are mainly variations of Realtek’s AC97 codec. About every company bundles it with some kind of custom software though. That makes finding the “right” driver a pain (opening the case, looking up the board specs is a little… well, uncomfortable).
Thankfully you can use a generic AC97 driver aswell. As stupid as it sounds, yes, this driver will work for almost every board you throw it at. Makes my work a lot easier 🙂 .
The nice thing about our mandatory education is that we sometimes tip topics that are not so common.
So we talked about SELinux vs. AppArmor the other day (inconclusive, just a quick introduction) but I thought I’d give it a spin on my laptop. SELinux did look a bit better (I like the inode based policies, everything else just sounds unreasonable) so I went ahead and installed the necessary packages.
Bad luck SELinux doesn’t like ReiserFS for it’s missing attributes.
Now that was quick, eh? Real bummer…
I just can’t refrain from testing blogging clients. Currently I’m playing around with a tool called Qumana which is available for free on OSX and Windows. It seems to be written in Java, so maybe giving it a spin on Linux/Unix will also work, don’t know.
Up to this moment I think the client is quite nice. I guess I’ll keep it running for a while and see how it performs. That also means that there should be a little more colorful posts coming up again for Qumana supports image upload 🙂 .
Talking about blogging clients: KDE 4.0 has a very nice class called KBlog. It just screams "Tsukasa, use me for your evil purpose!". The class provides a fairly straightforward way of interacting with blogs without having to deal with all that xmlrpc crap. Instead the programmer can focus on the primary goals of the application… like a comfortable editor or whatever. Really neat 🙂 .
Shopping spree!
Mainly for a presentation on FireWire I decided to get a nifty set of changers that’ll allow me to plug in my old 6-port IEEE1394a drives into the 4-port IEEE1394a port on my notebook. It’s quite trivial but adds a lot of usage to the otherwise quite unused port 🙂 .
The other thing is in preparation of my “I have to get something like a NAS together” project/problem: A nice eSata cradle. Just ignore the fact that the site is in Japanese for a moment and focus on the ingenius idea – pop in a SATA drive (which I have a *lot* of) and just work with it. Perfect to copy old data to a new drive (or vice versa). You think that’s overkill? I honestly don’t think it is. Swapping drives is a royal pain in the ass for me right now because I’ve to stoop through about 10 drives. Maybe I should re-order/rewire them one day. Or add labels. Well, whatever.
I won’t buy an Eee PC anytime soon though. I’m all lovey-dovey with the device but won’t spend 300 Euro on something that’ll get a considerable makeover within this year (which equals that it’ll hit Germany in like… 2 years). Ask again when the 9″ Eee with touchscreen hits the streets.
Any comments or thoughts? I’m rather interested in what you think of the eSata cradle.
Fehler schleichen sich gerne dann ein, wenn man glaubt alles unter Kontrolle zu haben.
Vielleicht ist aufgefallen, dass in den letzten Wochen nicht alle Seiten auf Old-Home verfügbar waren. Das war so eine schöne Situation 🙂 .
Der DynDNS Client war veraltet und hatte sich aufgrund fehlender Updates einfach ausgeschaltet, der routerinterne Client updatete zwar — jedoch nicht mit entsprechenden Einstellungen für Wildcards.
Kurz gesagt: Darum brauchen wir halt Administratoren, weil irgendwer irgendwo irgendwann irgendwie immer etwas ändert. Und alle anderen dann natürlich folgen müssen. Die Domains sind soweit natürlich auch wieder erreichbar 😉 .
For those of you that make use of the greatness of Greasemonkey I have a little something I found and instantly came to love: Autopagerize.
Basically it’s a userscript that will turn about every page into a Google Reader-esque, content-pulling-while-scrolling monster with just a few lines of javascript.
An absolutely awesome script that makes browsing Gelbooru way cooler.
Be sure to check the wiki page for some practical examples!